top of page

Boring Party? Not With An iPad Magic Show!

In this digital day and age, it is often hard to find a good performer who could entertain guests during a party. That is my dilemma when I was planning for the 12th birthday celebration of my youngest brother.

Honestly, I am worried that it would be a boring party since the birthday boy and his friends are often glued to their gadgets instead of socializing with each other. They might even prefer to sit on their tables and tinker with their phones or mobile gaming consoles.


Since he and most of his friends are already in the stage of their lives when they just want to tinker with their gadgets instead of playing parlour games, I thought it would be better if I can find a way to incorporate technology when entertaining them. Good thing I was able to watch an episode of The Ellen DeGeneres Show on YouTube where she featured an iPad magic show. I immediately thought that it would be a good way to save the party from being boring.


But since the talk show was done in the US, I wondered if there is also an available iPad magician in Singapore. At first, I thought it was impossible to get one in the country since this kind of magic show is relatively new.


Fortunately, my colleague at work told me that he knew a roving magician in Singapore who is part of a group of performers who can do different kinds of magic shows. One of their offerings is the digital magic show, which is very similar to the one that I saw on YouTube.

I immediately contacted the group through email and told them about the details of the party and what I expect from them. To be honest, I was a little worried that they might charge me a lot since iPad magic shows is relatively new in the country. But surprisingly, they gave me a very reasonable rate.


During the event, my brother and his friends were a bit hesitant about the iPad magic show. Some were even saying that the magician might only use an app that can be easily downloaded only. Yet when the iPad magician started doing all his tricks, everyone was really in awe. Even the older guests were amazed at the performance of the magician.


I was really impressed with how the magician pulled off the tricks, that is why I attempted to replicate it using my own iPad. But I can never really figure out how to do it.


I tried to look for iPad magic trick tips online, but I cannot find an easy one. But I realized that this kind of magic is not something that you can download from the App Store.


Simon Pierro, the internationally acclaimed magician who was featured in The Ellen DeGeneres Show, explained that he combines the traditional magic tricks with modern technology.


“The performance blends the old and the new, because everything we create today or in the future is based on what we have learned from the masters of the past,” Pierro said in an interview with Cult of Mac.


Because of this, my respect for the Singaporean iPad magician who performed during my brother’s birthday party increased tremendously.

I also loved the fact that the contact person of the group of magicians who responded to my email is very courteous and helpful in my queries. It was really a smooth transaction, and the magician came to the party prepared and on time.


I would gladly recommend them to anyone who will look for an excellent magic performance for any event.


bottom of page